Hairy Situation…

The drain in the hall bath has been slow for about 10 days now.  Initial attempt to snake out the drain was unsuccessful, in part because of the really crappy tool I bought. A “Liquid-Plumr 1/4-in x 20-ft Flat Rod Drain Auger” from Lowes.

070982016962

Avoid this at all costs!  The handle broke when a 10 year old tried to unwind it.  I noticed several with broken handles at the store, but assumed that was just vandals.  No, that was representative of the quality.

Then, when I tried to pull out the tape manually, the case fell apart.  It is now in pieces, in a bag, waiting to go back to Lowes for a refund.

A more successful attempt was made with a more traditional hand auger.  But no results. Before I broke out the replacement drain assembly and various other bits of plumbing paraphernalia, I tried one more thing.

I figured out how to disassemble the drain stopper.  Unscrew the pull knob, then use a pair of pliers to unscrew the stem that is hidden underneath.  What did I find?  Yarn, hair, and other drain denizens.  Working just fine now!

img_3033

Leave a comment